[Audio] WFS – Women in the Fire Service UK

Have a listen to my interview with female firefighter, Caroline Anderson about her role as Vice Chair of the WFS.

Over the past couple of weeks, I have dedicated my time to speaking to female firefighters about their career, but now it is time to investigate the bigger picture.

Due to the small percentage of female firefighters out there, I thought it would be interesting to see if anything has been established to support these women that work in the fire service. I found that the Fire Brigade Union has a section dedicated to women, called The National Women’s Committee of The Fire Brigades Union. I was originally planning to hopefully interview them, however I now have collected enough interviewees for my documentary.

Last week I found an organisation called the WFS (Women in the Fire Service UK). WFS is a voluntarily run organisation by individual members from all roles in the Fire and Rescue Service. I spoke to the Vice Chair of WFS and female firefighter, Caroline Anderson about her career and her role as Vice Chair.

I will be using part of Caroline’s interview in my final documentary, where she discusses her career as a female firefighter. I unfortunately cannot fit in all of the information about the WFS in my actual documentary. So I thought I would share a clip of Caroline outlining the organisation’s objectives and how they support gender diversity.

You can find out more about what the WFS does on their website.

Leave a Reply

