[Audio] The First Lady To Lead The LFB

On the 1st December, I went to the London Fire Brigade HQ in Union Street to meet Dany Cotton. On the 1st of January 2017, Dany will take her position as the Commissioner of the London Fire Brigade, not only making her the highest ranking female firefighter in Europe, but also the first lady in history to lead the Brigade.

Seeing as this is an extremely busy time for Dany, I was very unsure whether I would be able to interview her. However, through another interviewee of mine, a meeting was set up. It was clear to me that Dany wants not only gender diversity, but also welcomes anyone who is interested and capable from all different cultures, races and sexualities. It was also very apparent from my interview with Lee Drawbridge and also Dany, that the Fire Brigade realise their recruiting mistakes from the past, and takes responsibility for this. In my interview with Dany, she discusses her plans as Commissioner and how she aims to strive for a more gender diverse Brigade in the future. This will feature in my final documentary.

However, due to my documentary only being 7 minutes long, I have had to cut down a lot of the interview, only keeping the points that I deem most important. I wrote a blog post a few weeks ago about Dany’s career, which can be found here, but I thought I would include a snippet of Dany explaining why she wanted to become a firefighter and also an embarrassing time in her career, which I found too entertaining to not share.

However, due to my documentary only being 7 minutes long, I have had to cut down a lot of the interview, only keeping the points that I deem most important. So I thought I would share a snippet of Dany explaining why she wanted to become a firefighter and also an embarrassing time in her career, which I found too entertaining to not include.

Leave a Reply

